Uncategorized

Reflections from Germany – Lynn Keiner

June 2016 marked the 150th Anniversary of the Sisters of the Holy Redeemer becoming officially recognized as an independent Congregation.

A delegation of Sisters in the United States and members of the Holy Redeemer family (Associates, employees, Health System leaders) traveled to Germany in mid-June for the celebrations. One of those in attendance, Redeemer Associate Lynn Keiner, shares her reflection on the experience:

lynnAs with our dear Sisters here, our Sisters in Germany and Tanzania are imbued with the hospitality of our Redeemer. I wrote a little thank you speech for the Sisters that I had translated into German by Karen Braun, our interpreter. Karen helped me as did some of the Sisters and Sister Ann Marie, Sister Maryanne and Sister Anita. Believe me it took a village. The Sisters graciously received my thank you speech. Here it is in English:

Sister Monica in her welcoming address at the Cathedral said,”What matters most are the encounters, our encounters.” I am so grateful for this opportunity to be with you to encounter your love, your hospitality, your acceptance. While I do not speak German or Swahili, I have felt such love and acceptance in all of my encounters here. Love is beyond words. It is the thread that connects each of us. God, the source of all Love, has made us one family with this thread of love, blessing our encounters because as it says in the song from “Les Miserables”, “When you love another person, you see the face of God.” I thank you- My heart overflows with gratitude for this encounter.

These words of gratitude are for our Sisters of Holy Redeemer here in America as well. I am so grateful to have been given this opportunity. There are so many powerful images in my mind from this journey. The cloth woven with the image of Mother Alphonse Marie Eppinger and made into dresses and shirts and worn by the women and men that accompanied our Sisters from Tanzania,  the cross in Mother Alphonse’s bedroom, all the singing and dancing, the awesome spectacle in the Cathedral in Wurzburg celebrating our Sisters’ Jubilee, all of the people who came to the Motherhouse after the Mass to give their good wishes, the sound of the lovely voices of Lauds and Vespers, the German and Swahili that I heard everyday that became a dear music to my ears, dear Sister Sybilla directing the choir and Sister Maryanne’s beautiful voice, and so much more.

Thank you. Danke Shein.

 

